Kagoshima Travel Discount: 60% Off, Now Open, 384 Properties

645 recent visitors

This is an English translation of the Japanese original. The Japanese version and the announcements published by Kagoshima Prefecture and the official booking site are authoritative.

Last updated: 22 September 2026. Bookings opened on 14 September. This article is based on Kagoshima Prefecture's supplementary budget documents and the information published on the official booking site for the "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari" (Kagoshima tourism support discount). The start is now confirmed: 14 September, for stays through the night of 13 October (checkout by 14 October). Always check the official site for detailed conditions and eligible properties.

BREAKING

Kagoshima Prefecture's own discount, the "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari", opened for booking on Monday 14 September. Stays within the prefecture are up to 60% off, capped at 20,000 yen per person per booking, and eligible stays run through the night of 13 October (checkout by 14 October). It is a head-start measure that fully covers Silver Week (19–23 September), Japan's first five-day September holiday in 11 years, which the national "Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari" cannot reach. Note, however, that the official site warns that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings", and the number of listed participating properties has fallen from 402 on 13 September to 384 on 15 September. Bookings are made through the official booking site.

What has been decided: 60% off, capped at 20,000 yen, 452 million yen

60%Discount on trips including a stay in the prefecture
¥20,000Cap per person per booking
¥452mBudget (entirely national treasury funds)
14 SeptStart (stays through the night of 13 October)

The stated purpose in the budget proposal published on 2 September reads: "In light of the many accommodation cancellations caused by the 2026 Kumamoto earthquake, funds are appropriated for discount assistance for travel involving a stay in the prefecture, in order to bring about an early recovery in travel demand." It is open to residents and non-residents alike — it is not restricted to Kagoshima residents.

It is "the prefecture's own" scheme, but the money comes from the national government. On the revenue side of the proposal, the only line that increases is national treasury disbursements, by 452 million yen. Prefectural tax, prefectural bonds and transfers from funds are all zero. So the entire 452 million yen is national money. "Prefecture's own" means the prefecture designed it and is running it ahead of the national scheme — not that the prefecture is paying for it. The prefecture's general account rises to 926.1 billion yen after the supplement.

Press reports state that accommodation facilities in the prefecture saw more than 110,000 person-nights of cancellations after the 2026 Kumamoto earthquake — driven less by damage in Kagoshima itself than by travellers avoiding Kyushu as a whole.

How it differs from the national Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari, and which to use

Two discounts now sit side by side in Kagoshima, staggered in time. The key point: only the prefectural scheme covers Silver Week.

ItemKagoshima prefectural schemeNational Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari
Official nameKagoshima Kanko Ouenwari (project name: Kagoshima Emergency Tourism Attraction Project)Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari
StartStays from 14 September to 13 October (checkout by 14 October)Stays from 1 October
AreaStays within KagoshimaAll seven Kyushu prefectures
Discount60%60% Kumamoto & Kagoshima / 50% other five
Cap20,000 yen per person per booking20,000 yen (stay only / 1-night package)
30,000 yen (2+ nights) / 35,000 yen (multi-prefecture)
Budget452 million yen15.5 billion yen (MLIT reserve funds)
Silver Week (19–23 Sep)Covered (within the period)Not covered (stays from 1 October)

Silver Week 2026 runs Saturday 19 September to Wednesday 23 September, a five-day break created because 22 September falls between Respect for the Aged Day (21st) and the Autumnal Equinox (23rd) and therefore becomes a citizens' holiday. This alignment last occurred 11 years ago and is not expected again until 2032. The national discount cannot reach these five days of concentrated travel demand, which is why the prefecture moved first. With the 14 September start confirmed, the entire five-day break is covered by the prefectural discount.

Note that with the eligible period now fixed, the prefectural and national discounts run in parallel from 1 to 13 October. The official site does not state whether they can be combined, but schemes of this type usually do not allow double-dipping on the same stay. For the overlapping period, it is safest to assume you choose one or the other. See our article on the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari for the national scheme.

384 participating properties — a third are on the islands, down 18 in two days

The official site publishes a list of participating properties that apply the discount to direct bookings. As of 15 September 2026 there are 384 properties. Counting them by area reveals a distribution typical of Kagoshima.

AreaPropertiesMain municipalities
Remote islands134Amami 37, Yakushima 20, Setouchi 20, Tatsugo 16
Central Satsuma75Kagoshima City 70, Hioki 3
Kirishima / Aira63Kirishima 51, Isa 6, Aira 4
South Satsuma54Ibusuki 36, Minamikyushu 9, Minamisatsuma 5
North Satsuma31Satsumasendai 11, Satsuma 7, Izumi 6
Osumi27Kanoya 14, Shibushi 7, Tarumizu 4

What stands out is that 134 properties, or 35% of the total, are on the remote islands — Amami, Yakushima, Setouchi and Tatsugo, places where airfare or ferry fares are usually the obstacle. A ¥20,000 cut in the room rate can be redirected to the cost of getting there.

By municipality the order is Kagoshima City 70, Kirishima 51, Amami 37 (including Kasari) and Ibusuki 36, spread across 38 municipalities in total. By type there are 143 hotels, 74 simple lodgings, 67 ryokan, 58 cottages and whole-house rentals, and 34 guesthouses and pensions, plus 8 private lodgings registered under the Private Lodging Business Act.

The count is already falling. The same list showed 402 properties on 13 September and 384 on 15 September, the day after launch — down 18 in two days. The decline is spread across areas, but the islands account for the largest share. Given the official site's note that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings," it is likely that properties whose allocation is used up are dropping off the list (the prefecture has not explained the change, so a routine data update cannot be ruled out). Either way, it is safer to act while your candidate property is still listed.

Note that this list covers properties that apply the discount to direct bookings. Properties that offer it through travel agencies or online booking sites must be checked on those companies' own sites, so 384 is not the total number of eligible properties.

Which price of room gives the most benefit — working back from the 20,000 yen cap

With a 60% discount capped at 20,000 yen, the benefit is maximised exactly where the discount reaches the cap. Above that, paying more adds nothing to the discount.

Price at which the cap is reached

20,000 ÷ 0.6 = 33,334 yen

In other words, at roughly 33,300 yen per use the discount hits exactly 20,000 yen and flattens out.

- 15,000 yen room → 9,000 off (you pay 6,000)
- 25,000 yen room → 15,000 off (you pay 10,000)
- 33,334 yen room → 20,000 off (you pay 13,334) — the turning point
- 50,000 yen room → 20,000 off (you pay 30,000; effective discount drops to 40%)

The official site states the cap explicitly as "up to 20,000 yen per person per booking". Because it applies per booking rather than per night, consolidating consecutive nights into a single booking makes it easier to reach the cap.

So if you have room to trade up to a slightly better hotel than usual, it pays to go up to the low 30,000s. Conversely, above 50,000 yen the discount amount no longer changes, so there is little point choosing by discount rate.

How long will 452 million yen last?

With a fixed budget, schemes like this run out on a first-come basis. A sense of scale helps you decide how fast to move.

Assumed average discountApproximate number of uses covered
20,000 yen (everyone hits the cap)about 22,600
12,000 yen (20,000 yen rooms)about 37,600
9,000 yen (15,000 yen rooms)about 50,200

Set against the reported 110,000-plus cancellations, this budget covers barely half at best. With demand concentrated in the five-day Silver Week, the allocation is likely to be taken up quickly.

How to move, working back from the budget size. Sales have already started; the only open question is when the money runs out. Because demand concentrates on Silver Week stays (19–23 September), assume those dates fill within days if that is when you want to travel. The fact that the number of listed properties has already begun to fall (402 to 384) is corroborating evidence that the allocation is being consumed. If you have a candidate in mind, book while it is still on the official list.

What is now confirmed — and what is still unknown

With the official booking site opening on 11 September and sales starting on 14 September, almost every item that was undecided at the bulletin stage is now settled.

  • Start date and eligible period — sales began on 14 September; eligible stays run from 14 September to 13 October (checkout by 14 October).
  • Name and booking channel — the "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari". The official booking site is live.
  • How the cap is counted — up to 20,000 yen per person per booking (discount up to 60%).
  • Who can use it — no residency restriction. However, business stays such as publicly funded travel are excluded, as are day trips.
  • Bookings made before the start are excluded — the official site states that "reservations made before the sales start date are not eligible for the campaign."
  • Whether it can be combined with the national discount — the official site says only that this is "a Kagoshima-specific campaign run separately from the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari" and does not state whether the two can be combined. The periods overlap from 1 to 13 October, so it is safest to assume one scheme per stay. On 17 September the prefecture published the outline of Kagoshima's share of the national scheme (60% off): bookings are expected from mid-October, eligible stays run from mid-October 2026 to the end of February 2027 (excluding 26 December to 3 January), and the discount fund is up to 3,023,120,000 yen. The national scheme picks up where the prefecture's own scheme leaves off, after stays of 13 October.
  • How much of the budget remains — the prefecture does not publish the remaining balance. The 452 million yen is consumed first-come and the scheme ends when it is gone; the official site notes that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings." Because the overall balance is invisible from outside, the number of listed properties is the practical proxy.

Discounts of this kind have conventionally been treated as temporary income (ichiji shotoku) for Japanese tax purposes, but there is an annual special deduction of 500,000 yen, so no filing is required unless you have other temporary income. See the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari article.

What to do today

  1. If you plan to stay during Silver Week, book today. Sales started on 14 September and the budget is consumed first-come; the number of listed properties has already fallen from 402 to 384.
  2. Check that your candidate property is on the list. Properties not listed do not apply the discount to direct bookings (check travel agencies and booking sites separately).
  3. Remember "up to about 33,000 yen" as the price range the discount rewards. Up to that point, a pricier room means a bigger discount; beyond it, the discount stops growing.

Frequently asked questions

When can the Kagoshima prefectural discount be used?

Bookings opened on Monday 14 September 2026 under the name "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari". Eligible stays run through the night of 13 October (checkout by 14 October), and bookings are made through the official booking site. Silver Week (19–23 September), the first five-day September break in 11 years, is included in the period. Note that the budget is consumed first-come, and the official site warns that some properties may already have closed bookings.

Can non-residents of Kagoshima use it?

Yes — it is open to residents and non-residents alike. The budget proposal describes it as "discount assistance for travel involving a stay in the prefecture", with no restriction by place of residence. However, business stays such as publicly funded travel are excluded. Check the detailed conditions on the official booking site.

Should I use the prefectural scheme or the national one?

It depends on when you stay. From 14 to 30 September (including Silver Week), only the prefectural "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari" is available. From 1 to 13 October the prefectural and national periods overlap, but whether both can be applied to the same stay is not stated, so it is safest to assume you choose one. From 14 October only the national Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari applies, with Kagoshima in the 60% band alongside Kumamoto. On 17 September the prefecture published the outline of the national scheme: bookings are expected from mid-October, and eligible stays run to the end of February 2027 (excluding 26 December to 3 January).

Which price of room gives the most benefit?

With a 60% discount capped at 20,000 yen, the discount reaches 20,000 yen at a room price of about 33,300 yen and flattens out there. Below that, a pricier room means a bigger discount; above it, the discount stays at 20,000 yen. At a 50,000 yen room, for example, the effective discount rate falls to 40%. The cap is 20,000 yen per person per booking.

Does "the prefecture's own scheme" mean Kagoshima is paying for it?

No. The entire cost comes from national funds. On the revenue side of the supplementary budget, the only increase is 452 million yen in national treasury disbursements; prefectural tax, prefectural bonds and fund transfers are all zero. "The prefecture's own" means Kagoshima designed the scheme itself and is running it ahead of the national one — not that the prefecture raised its own funds.

Does it end when the budget runs out?

It is allocated first-come within the budget and closes when exhausted. Dividing 452 million yen by the discount per use gives roughly 22,600 uses if everyone reaches the 20,000 yen cap, or about 50,200 at an average discount of 9,000 yen on 15,000 yen rooms. The prefecture does not publish the remaining balance, but the number of listed participating properties has fallen from 402 on 13 September to 384 on 15 September, so the allocation is being consumed.